Beginning in early 2016, Florida’s Compassionate Medical Cannabis Act of 2014 will allow the use of certain medical marijuana medicines by Florida qualified patients.
If you are a Florida physician who may be interested in recommending GrowHealthy medical marijuana products to your patients, we invite you to join our Physician Finder.
The Compassionate Medical Cannabis Act of 2014 provides that low‐THC cannabis can only be ordered by physicians licensed under Chapter 458 or Chapter 459 of Florida Statutes.
To qualify, the ordering physician must successfully complete an 8‐hour course that encompasses the clinical indications for the appropriate use of low‐THC cannabis, the appropriate delivery mechanisms, the contraindications for such use, as well as the relevant state and federal laws governing the ordering, dispensing, and possessing of this substance. The physician must successfully pass an examination upon completion of the course.
For the most accurate and current information, see the Florida Department of Health Office of Compassionate Use webpage.
The Following offers some details of Senate Bill 1030 as they apply to Florida Physicians.
“Low-THC cannabis” means a plant of the genus Cannabis, the dried flowers of which contain 0.8 percent or less of tetrahydrocannabinol and more than 10 percent of cannabidiol weight for weight; the seeds thereof; the resin extracted from any part of such plant; or any compound, manufacture, salt, derivative, mixture, or preparation of such plant or its seeds or resin that is dispensed only from a dispensing organization.”
“Effective January 1, 2015, a physician licensed under chapter 458 or chapter 459 who has examined and is treating a patient suffering from cancer or a physical medical condition that chronically produces symptoms of seizures or severe and persistent muscle spasms may order for the patient’s medical use low-THC cannabis to treat such disease, disorder, or condition or to alleviate symptoms of such disease, disorder, or condition, if no other satisfactory alternative treatment options exist for that patient and all of the following conditions apply:
(a) The patient is a permanent resident of this state.
(b) The physician determines that the risks of ordering low-THC cannabis are reasonable in light of the potential benefit for that patient. If a patient is younger than 18 years of age, a second physician must concur with this determination, and such determination must be documented in the patient’s medical record.
(c) The physician registers as the orderer of low-THC cannabis for the named patient on the compassionate use registry maintained by the department and updates the registry to reflect the contents of the order. The physician shall deactivate the patient’s registration when treatment is discontinued.
(d) The physician maintains a patient treatment plan that includes the dose, route of administration, planned duration, and monitoring of the patient’s symptoms and other indicators of tolerance or reaction to the low-THC cannabis.
(e) The physician submits the patient treatment plan quarterly to the University of Florida College of Pharmacy for research on the safety and efficacy of low-THC cannabis on patients.
(f) The physician obtains the voluntary informed consent of the patient or the patient’s legal guardian to treatment with low-THC cannabis after sufficiently explaining the current state of knowledge in the medical community of the effectiveness of treatment of the patient’s condition with low-THC cannabis, the medically acceptable alternatives, and the potential risks and side effects.”
Please call us at (800) 619-5288 to speak with a GrowHealthy representative and place an order.